Mountain Dew…Racists?

Posted: May 1, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

Image

Oh my God, this perpetuates negative stereotypes of black males; I can’t believe Mountain Dew did this!

Oh, wait a minute. Stereotypes are perceived ideas of a people by others that are usually made up or pointed out for humorous reasons and are not necessarily true.  But, in this case and I guess in my opinion, these characters are not portraying imaginary stereotypes. This is the way ‘some’ black people talk, dress and behave so; it’s not racist. It’s mockery of the Failure Lifestyle that blacks and black criminals choose to live by. 

We say it in our music; THEY hear it in our music.  We glamorize that life and mourn when we die by it.  I’m not taking this commercial seriously at all.  I’m not offended by it; I’m not amused by it either.

CT

Leave a Reply

