FATHERHOOD

Posted: August 27, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Fatherhood is defined as:

1. the state of being a father.
2. fathers collectively.
3. the qualities or spirit of a father.1) I believe in Fatherhood. I believe in it strongly, even though I wasn’t privy to it as a child. I made pledges and promises to be there for my children no matter what. Sacrifices made, hearts broken and lives and attitudes changed but, overall it’s been a “maturing” and “humbling” experience nonetheless. Being a father is about being there as best you can, working hard to provide for your family, being a leader, a protector and an example to be followed.

2) Not speaking for all fathers but, isn’t it a great feeling to feel that little hand inside of yours, and then watch that same hand grow and grow and grow as it fills your hand and your heart. It’s amazing how fast they grow; how fast they learn and absorb the good and the bad we offer them. I love being a father and by no means is it easy.  I enjoy being in the company of other fathers, good fathers and good men, that are there for their children and families.  In a way I see them as being there for me to help me be a better man and father to my own.

3) Being a father to 3 boys is great. Of course if they were girls or even if I had one, it would be just as wonderful.  I’m faced with a great challenge, an almost 17 year old and almost 2 year old twins…wow, I have to deal with teen angst and dirty diapers. This is a great experience and its all mine.  My children are my heart, its in my spirit to be the best father I can be!

Fatherhood….I love it!

Until you have a son of your own… you will never know the joy, the  love beyond feeling that resonates in the heart of a father as he looks  upon his son. You will never know the sense of honor that makes a man  want to be more than he is and to pass something good and hopeful into  the hands of his son. And you will never know the heartbreak of the  fathers who are haunted by the personal demons that keep them from being  the men they want their sons to be.

CT

Leave a Reply

